Users

User accounts are assigned to:

  • human operators of the system
  • but also to automatic software clients (components) such as OCR, Capture and Export.

The server comes preconfigured with several system users so you normally don’t need to configure these separately.

  • OcrUser - a system user, used by the automatic OCR clients (components). This user account is normally not used by human operators.
  • GeneralUser - preconfigured to have access to all parts of the system except the Admin panel.
  • InputUser - preconfigured to only have access to importing documents for processing.
  • ReportUser - preconfigured to only have access to the Reports section
  • VerifyUser - preconfigured to only have access to Verify section

Managing User Accouns

Default user account

When initially installed the system comes with one default user account: admin, part of the Administrators user group. The password is admin and it is a good idea to change it as soon as you log in for the first time.

Creating a new user account

To create a new user account go to the Admin Panel ‣ Users and click Create Users.

User name: A user name must be at least 3 symboils long.

Password: The password must be at least 4 symbols long.

User Group: User groups are typically used to easily set user roles and permissions on multiple users.

The system comes with several predefined user groups:

  • Administrators - have full access to the system
  • General users - have access to all parts of the system except for the Admin panel.
  • Input users -
  • OCR users - used for automatic OCR clients and not for human operators
  • Report users - have access to the Reports section
  • Verify users - have access to Verification, where the system is trained and capture data verified.

To edit the existing user groups or create a new one see User groups

First name: The first name of the user (optional).

Last name: The last name of the user (optional).

Email: The email of the user (optional).

Managing User Data

Copy learning from: The software learns when being used and the training data is stored at the user level. When creating a new user you might want to copy the training data already created by another user. (optional)

Copy mappings from: Mappings is part of the training data where the software learns to populate a field based on the value of another field. When creating a new user you might want to copy the Mapping data already created by another user. (optional)

Copy settings from: Select a user account so the new user inherits the settings from another user. The following settings can be inherited: Input client settings; Verify client settings (optional)

Group Roles: A role is a step in the document processing process. If a user is assigned a role they are allowed to perform the corresponding operations, e.g. the Report role gives a user access to the Reports section. Typically roles are assigned to to User groups, but you can fine tune them here at the User level.

Group Permissions: Permissions can be used to fine tune a user’s access rights. Typically permissions are assigned to User groups, but you can fine tune them here at the User level.

Editing a user account

To edit a user account in the Admin panel click Edit users.

User name, password, permissions, roles, training data can be altered or copied from this section.

Tip

To delete the training data for a particular user edit that user and in Copy learning from: select a user who has not used the Verify screen and therefore has no training data saved.

Tip

You can not edit the Roles for the user account you are currently logged in.